PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT: I HAVEN’T STOPPED WRITING!

So they say whatever you don’t do for long would leave you eh!? I really wish I could say I’m the special exception to this rule, but it does seem to me like it’s one of those universal principles that are just given you know?

This really worried me when I graduated from secondary school and realized I’d have to wait for virtually a year before I start my university education. 

I thought to myself, “a year without math and the regular calculations?? Would I still be up and doing by the time I start uni?.”

I tell you this was no small concern of mine. The thought actually terrified me. Not to toot my horn but I’ve always been a great student and want to keep it that way. 

My worries weren’t allayed until the day I thought to myself, “come oh, this guy self there’s really no cause for alarm na? Aren’t you the one who’s always reading books, newspaper articles, visiting this blog or the other to read the latest stories? And when I’m not reading I’m writing?, so all of these activities are brain exercises and you’ll be just fine.” 

So for the time being my worries we’re put in a box to the left, under lock and key, never to be opened again. Or so I thought. Because you see recently, after I fell into another unprecedented writing break without warning, it’s like someone’s found the key to the box, made like Pandora and let my demons out. 

This time around I’m prepared though. You see I’ve realized that brain exercise exists in more than one form. Whether it’s solving math, reading books, writing Java code, having intellectually/emotionally stimulating conversations with friends, or simply enjoying a cup of beverage while gazing at nature and thinking, “it’s a wonderful world”

There really is no end to what you can do to keep your self intellectually sharp, set and ready to go. 

This post serves to let you know that I’ve not given up on writing. No dear it’s not happening any time soon. I’ve just been occupied with a lot of equally important stuff as well. It’s hard to find the time but whenever I do make time to write, it’s comforting to know I’ve still got it. 

So let this be a lesson to you all. Don’t let the fact that you’ve left something for a long while discourage you. Like an unfinished book, you can just pick it up and continue from where you stopped! 

Have a great life! 

Image source.

Leave a Reply

