PEACE BE STILL!

Hello dear friends, I hope you’re having a great Sunday so far. I know I am. 

One thing I did differently was that I decided not to play my regular music today, I played church hymns instead and I feel in many ways I’m reaping the rewards. 

One hymn in particular, “Master, the tempest is raging(105), spoke to me in a profound way today. The hymn is centered on the Saviour’s experience calming the storm which can be found in Mathew 8:23-27. 

The message I want to share is from the chorus of the hymn which goes thus, 

[Chorus]

The winds and the waves shall obey thy will:

Peace, be still.

Whether the wrath of the storm-tossed sea

Or demons or men or whatever it be,

No waters can swallow the ship where lies

The Master of ocean and earth and skies.

They all shall sweetly obey thy will:

Peace, be still; peace, be still.

They all shall sweetly obey thy will:

Peace, peace, be still.

And the thought in my mind why the song was playing was this, “A ship is a vessel not so? It’s so. And from scriptures, I think in psalms and Isaiah 52, I know that we are the vessels of the Lord. So putting two and two together, I can substitute vessel in place of ship in the hymn. 

Then we’d have, 

No water can swallow the vessel where lies the master of ocean and earth and skies. 

And that was when it hit me. 
If I live in such a way that I can have Christ reside in me, then it is assurance that principalities, powers, demons, men, and women, difficult people, challenges, mood swings, disappointments(insert the one that relates to you) etc etc can not overcome me because no water can swallow the vessel where Christ is in. 

I really hope this speaks to you as it did to me. My prayer is that I, as flawed as I am, can live in such a way that I am worthy of Christ’s companionship. It’s my prayer for you to today, knowing fully well that with him we’d always overcome, in Jesus Christ’s name, Amen. 

Thank you for reading this far. 

Do have a lovely week. 

Kelechi Ochulo. 

Leave a Reply

